Motivational

Phases of Life

You are more than you give yourself credit. 

Depression can manifest in many different ways in different people. Some mild and others severe. In some people it is the feelings of self worth. Very often we tend to discredit ourselves, we think we can’t do something or be something or be somewhere. We can’t have that job because it’s too high for us to achieve or handle. Or maybe the people around you aren’t the best cheerleaders and so you begin to see yourself as what and how they see you; Less, not important enough, not good enough.  When this happens, we start to see oursleves as worth less, unimportant etc. Maybe because you are not yet at that place you want to be in your life, ot you haven’t been able to get that degree after many years. Well, just so you know, you are important to God and you should make yourself important to you because you are worth more than you give yourself credit. You are more than what people say you are so don’t let anyone tell you otherwise.


Change your mindset, think positive, dream dreams, make goals and go after them one goal at a time.

Work towards achieving something, go back to school if you need to, or take a certification course,  learn to cook or play an instrument just work towards something.

Very commonly, women easily slip into this phase where they do not see their worth because they don’t hold a job outside the home or they don’t earn “enough” to be considered relevant. Looking at my own life, for a long time I felt less, unimportant, not good enough or smart enough to do something big and I lived that way for many years. Knowing that I went to medical school gave me some sense of self worth but it wasn’t enough.  I needed more, I needed something to make me feel worthy.

I became a stay-at-home mother and housewife, I cooked, cleaned, cared for everyone but myself, did grocery shopping, laundry, cooking and the list goes on and on but I didn’t creat time for ME. I was hiding behind chores and after school activities and homework, etc I slowly started loosing myself because I didn’t feel important, or what I did everyday as enough. My husband didn’t see me slowly crawling into this hole neither did he see me loosing my face. He thought I was in control but I wasn’t. My mind was my biggest enemy and I couldn’t figure out why.

Depression is real and can happen to anyone.

Realizing your problem and making up your mind to do something about it is the first step to defeating depressive feelings. After I realized by mind/emotional issues, I then began to seek for solutions. I decided to try to do away with negative thoughts to help get rid of the negative feelings. I would talk to myself very often, reminding myself of who I am, who’s daughter I am. I reminded myself, very frequently, that I am worth something and I can do whatever I set my mind to do. I reminded myself that I am important to God and to my family. God sees me differently. He sees me as special, more than enough and I had to start seeing myself same way. I had to allow myself to be loved by my family. When you feel you are not getting compliments or encouragement from people around you, you should give it to yourself. We need to learn to believe in ourselves and put a crown of importance on our heads and learn to love ourselves.


Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable- if anything is excellent or praiseworthy- think about such things.   Philippians 4:8


Some others may need professional help to crawl out of their hole of despair, then GET HELP. There’s no shame in seeking help. It’s better than letting yourself wallow in mental pain, secluding yourself from your family and friends. Who cares if you need something to help jumpstart your day, or if you need therapy often to keep you going. Speak out about your troubles, seek help and seek God (Cast ALL your cares/burdens on God for He cares for you)

Why, my soul, are you downcast? Why so disturbed within me? Put your hope in God, for I will yet praise him, my Savior and my God.    Psalms 42:11

God has a purpose and plan for our lives even before we were born. We sometimes stall these plans by our attitudes, negativity and not pursuing our dreams and visions. Pray that God’s will for your life be made known to you and for wisdom on how to work towards achieving those plans.

Blessings

Leave a Reply

